Out of an abundance of caution concerning COVID-19, Mirman School has shifted to remote learning. Click here for more info.


2015-16 Farrier Team Named Pacemaker Finalists

02/14/17 03:39:pm
| Category: News

Each year, the National Scholastic Press Association presents scholastic journalism’s preeminent award, the Pacemaker. There is a category for each type of publication – online, newspaper, yearbook, magazine and broadcast. Entries are judged by teams of professionals based on the following criteria: coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership, design, photography and graphics.

Mirman's Farrier, led by advisor and Upper School English Teacher Wendy Samson, is one of only 9 middle schools across the country to be recognized.

What does it take to complete the yearbook each year? It's a labor of love, to be sure, but it's also a labor of hours! According to Ms. Samson, the effort by the numbers breaks down as follows:

* 22 students working a minimum of 5 hours a week each ("Plus some work at home, on weekends, and vacations," she added.)

* 88 pages are broken up and assigned to different teams, each responsible for all the copy, photos, and layout in their section

* Plus, during the summer, a group of 4 to 7 students travel to Cal State Long Beach for [email protected] to start working on each year's book. "We work pretty much from 8 a.m. to midnight on the book for four days — obviously with some breaks built in!" said Samson.

Staff from the 2016 book include the following students: Elena Saviano (Alumna)–Editor in Chief, Eva Wiener (Alumna)–Copy Editor, Annie Beckman (Alumna) and Elle Nicoletti (Alumna) –Senior Page Editors, Emmie O.–Assistant Editor, Tessa Gordon (Alumna), Ben Davidoff (Alumni), Greta Z., Mina E.-U., Jake F., Bianca Garfinkle (Alumna), Matthew Geske (Alumni), Sophia G., Paisley Kandler (Alumna), Abby K., Jaime Marley (Alumni), Oscar Montanez-Garay (Alumni), Anastasia Shakhidzanova (Alumna), Sarina Smolev (Alumna), Julianna Ross (Alumna), Talia Tepper (Alumna) and Ella W.